Tuesday, March 15, 2016

A Barry Fine Showing

Deadly Pleasures Mystery Magazine and its editor, George Easter, today announced the nominees for this year’s Barry Awards. They are:

Best Novel:
Badlands, by C.J. Box (Minotaur)
A Song of Shadows, by John Connolly (Emily Bestler/Atria)
The Stolen Ones, by Owen Laukkanen (Putnam)
Life or Death, by Michael Robotham (Mulholland)
Devil of Delphi, by Jeffrey Siger (Poisoned Pen Press)
The Cartel, by Don Winslow (Knopf)

Best First Novel:
Ruins of War, by John A. Connell (Berkley)
Past Crimes, by Glen Erik Hamilton (Morrow)
Jade Dragon Mountain, by Elsa Hart (Minotaur)
The Girl on the Train, by Paula Hawkins (Riverhead)
The Unquiet Dead, by Ausma Zehanat Khan (Minotaur)
Bull Mountain, by Brian Panowich (Putnam)

Best Paperback Original:
Blessed Are Those Who Weep, by Kristi Belcamino (Witness Impulse)
The Long and Faraway Gone, by Lou Berney (Morrow)
Quarry’s Choice, by Max Allan Collins (Hard Case Crime)
No Other Darkness, by Sarah Hilary (Penguin)
Snow Blind, by Ragnar Jónasson (Orenda)
Stone Cold Dead, by James W. Ziskin (Seventh Street)

Best Thriller:
Brute Force, by Marc Cameron (Pinnacle)
The Killing Kind, by Chris Holm (Mulholland)
Viking Bay, by M.A. Lawson (Blue Rider)
Hostage Taker, by Stefanie Pintoff (Bantam)
The Mask, by Taylor Stevens (Crown)
Foreign and Domestic, by A.J. Tata (Pinnacle)

The Barrys are scheduled for dispersal during Bouchercon 2016, to be held from September 15 to 18 in New Orleans, Louisiana. Congratulations to all of the contenders!

No comments: