Tuesday, September 22, 2015

Persistence Pays Off

Veteran Bouchercon participants Bill and Toby Gottfried will be presented with the David S. Thompson Award during next month’s incarnation of that World Mystery Convention, to be held in Raleigh, North Carolina. Named in honor of Texas bookseller-publisher David Thompson, who died in 2010, this commendation is intended to “recognize extraordinary efforts to develop and promote the mystery and crime fiction community.”

As Shotsmag Confidential explains, “Toby and Bill have attended almost every Bouchercon since 1985. Their involvement in the mystery community goes far beyond attending conferences and buying books. They have actively participated on multiple Bouchercon committees and have chaired two Left Coast Crime conventions. They plan vacations and travel around mystery conventions. At each convention, they make authors and readers feel welcome, breaking bread with them, and welcoming them in every possible way into the mystery community as friends and family.”

Congratulations to the Gottfrieds, who you may remember were also honored back in 2008 with the Don Sandstrom Memorial Award for Lifetime Achievement in Mystery Fandom.

No comments: