Tuesday, March 31, 2015

Just Thrilled to Announce ...

We started hearing rumors yesterday (primarily on Facebook) that nominees for the 2015 Thriller Awards were due to be announced, and sure enough, today brings the list of contenders. These commendations are sponsored, as usual, by the International Thriller Writers organization. Winners will be named on July 11 during ThrillerFest X in New York City.

Best Hardcover Novel:
The Fever, by Megan Abbott (Little, Brown)
Broken Monsters, by Lauren Beukes (Mulholland)
Suspicion, by Joseph Finder (Dutton)
Natchez Burning, by Greg Iles (Morrow)
That Night, by Chevy Stevens (St. Martin’s Press)

Best First Novel:
The Axeman’s Jazz, by Ray Celestin (Mantle UK)
Invisible City, by Julia Dahl (Minotaur)
The Life We Bury, by Allen Eskens (Seventh Street)
The Weight of Blood, by Laura McHugh (Spiegel & Grau)
The Martian, by Andy Weir (Crown)

Best Paperback Original Novel:
The Buried, by Shelley Coriell (Forever)
My Sister’s Grave, by Robert Dugoni (Thomas & Mercer)
Shadow Maker, by James R. Hannibal (Berkley)
Whirlwind, by Rick Mofina (Harlequin Mira)
Moonlight Weeps, by Vincent Zandri (Down & Out)

Best Short Story:
“Busting Red Heads,” by Richard Helms (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], March 2014)
“Pussycat, Pussycat,” by Stephen Ross (EQMM, September/October 2014)
“Show Stopper,” by Gigi Vernon (from Mystery Writers of America Presents Ice Cold: Tales of Intrigue from the Cold War, edited by Jeffery Deaver and Raymond Benson; Grand Central)
“The Honey Trap,” by Bev Vincent (from Mystery Writers of America Presents Ice Cold: Tales of Intrigue from the Cold War)
“The Last Wrestling Bear in West Kentucky,” by Tim L. Williams (EQMM, September/October 2014)

Best Young Adult Novel:
Nearly Gone, by Elle Cosimano (Kathy Dawson)
Tabula Rasa, by Kristen Lippert-Martin (EgmontUSA)
The Eighth Guardian, by Meredith McCardle (Skyscape)
The Unbound, by Victoria Schwab (Disney-Hyperion)
Wicked Little Secrets, by Kara Taylor (St. Martin’s Griffin)

Best E-book Original Novel:
Post, by Sean Black (Sean Black Digital)
The Metaxy Project, by Layton Green (Sixth Street Press)
Wannabes, by Michael Logan (Michael Logan)
Hard Fall, by C.J. Lyons (Legacy)
13 Hollywood Apes, by Gil Reavill (Alibi)

Best of luck to all the nominees!

READ MORE:Whangaparaoa Author in Line for International Thriller Writing Prize,” by Craig Sisterson (Crime Watch).

No comments: