Wednesday, November 05, 2014

Checking Out Library Prize Rivals

Two days later than anticipated, we finally have the shortlist of nominees for the Crime Writers’ Association’s 2014 Dagger in the Library award, sponsored by Dead Good Books. This prize honors “an author’s body of work to date, rather than a single title and an author must have published three books to be eligible for the award.” Here are the five finalists (plus the names of their usual publishers):

Sharon Bolton (Transworld)
Elly Griffiths (Quercus)
Mari Hannah (Pan)
James Oswald (Michael Joseph)
Mel Sherratt (Thomas & Mercer)

A longlist of 10 contenders was announced in mid-September and can be found here. (I’m particularly sorry to see Tony Black fall by the wayside.) Dead Good and the CWA are scheduled to proclaim a winner “at the beginning of December.”

No comments: