Thursday, July 17, 2014

Bauer Bests the Bunch

Two weeks after the organizers behind this year’s Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award announced the six shortlisted contenders for that title, a winner has been declared. It’s Rubbernecker, by Belinda Bauer (Bantam Press).

Just to recap, here are the five other shortlisted works: The Red Road, by Denise Mina (Orion); The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter, by Malcolm Mackay (Mantle); The Chessmen, by Peter May (Quercus); Dying Fall, by Elly Griffiths (Quercus); and Eleven Days, by Stav Sherez (Faber & Faber). The victor was determined by a select panel (chaired by UK author Steve Mosby) as well as a public, online vote.

Bauer’s win was coupled with news that Lynda La Plante has been given the fifth Theakstons Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award. The previous recipients were Ruth Rendell, P.D. James, Colin Dexter, and Reginald Hill.

(Hat tip to the Euro Crime Blog.)

No comments: