Saturday, July 12, 2014

Arousing and Praiseworthy

Earlier this evening, at the conclusion of ThrillerFest IX in New York City, the International Thriller Writers (ITW) handed out its 2014 Thriller Awards to the following books and authors.

Best Hardcover Novel:
The Demonologist, by Andrew Pyper (Simon & Schuster)

Also nominated: Her Last Breath, by Linda Castillo (Minotaur); Never Go Back, by Lee Child (Delacorte Press); Touch and Go, by Lisa Gardner (Dutton); Doctor Sleep, by Stephen King (Scribner); Criminal Enterprise, by Owen Laukkanen (Putnam); and White Fire, by Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child (Grand Central)

Best First Novel:
Red Sparrow, by Jason Matthews (Scribner)

Also nominated: Montana, by Gwen Florio (Permanent Press); Resolve, by J.J. Hensley (Permanent Press); Rage Against the Dying, by Becky Masterman (Minotaur); The Edge of Normal, by Carla Norton (Minotaur); Out of Range, by Hank Steinberg (Morrow); and The Intercept, by Dick Wolf (Harper)

Best Paperback Original Novel:
The One I Left Behind, by Jennifer McMahon (Morrow)

Also nominated: Cold Snap, by Allison Brennan (Minotaur); Buried, by Kendra Elliot (Montlake); His Majesty’s Hope, by Susan Elia MacNeal (Bantam); Snow White Must Die, by Nele Neuhaus (Minotaur); and Deadly Harvest, by Michael Stanley (Harper)

Best Short Story:
“Footprints in the Water,” by Twist Phelan (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine [EQMM], July 2013)

Also nominated: “Baggage of Eternal Night,” by Eric Guignard (JournalStone); “Waco 1982,” by Laura Lippman (from The Mystery Writers of America Presents: The Mystery Box, edited by Brad Meltzer; Grand Central); “The Gallows Bird,” by Kevin Mims (EQMM, July 2013); and “Doloroso,” by Stephen Vessels (EQMM, November 2013)

Best Young Adult Novel:
All Our Yesterdays, by Cristin Terrill (Disney-Hyperion)

Also nominated: The Rules for Disappearing, by Ashley Elston (Disney-Hyperion); Scorched, by Mari Mancusi (Sourcebooks Fire); Escape from Eden, by Elisa Nader (Merit Press); and Boy Nobody, by Allen Zadoff (Little, Brown Books for Young Readers)

Best E-book Original Novel:
The World Beneath, by Rebecca Cantrell (Rebecca Cantrell)

Also nominated: The Burning Time, by J.G. Faherty (JournalStone); Terminus, by Joshua Graham (Redhaven); No Dawn for Men, by James Lepore and Carlos Davis (The Story Plant); and Out of Exile, by Luke Preston (Momentum)

Congratulations to all of this year’s contenders!

In addition, Scott Turow was named this year’s ThrillerMaster, and Brenda Novak received the Literary Silver Bullet Award.

(Hat tip to Mystery Fanfare.)

No comments: