Tuesday, June 24, 2014

Make Room for the Macavitys

Nominees for the 2014 Macavity Awards were announced this morning. As Mystery Fanfare’s Janet Rudolph explains, contenders are “nominated and voted on by members and friends of MysteryReaders International and subscribers to Mystery Readers Journal. Nominations are for works published in the U.S. in 2013.”

Best Mystery Novel:
Sandrine’s Case, by Thomas H. Cook (Mysterious Press)
Dead Lions, by Mick Herron (Soho Crime)
Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger (Atria)
The Wicked Girls, by Alex Marwood (Penguin)
How the Light Gets In, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)
Standing in Another Man’s Grave, by Ian Rankin (Reagan Arthur)

Best First Mystery:
Yesterday’s Echo, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview)
Rage Against the Dying, by Becky Masterman (Minotaur)
Cover of Snow, by Jenny Milchman (Ballantine)
Norwegian by Night, by Derek Miller (Faber and Faber)
A Killing at Cotton Hill, by Terry Shames (Seventh Street)

Best Mystery Short Story:
“The Terminal,” by Reed Farrel Coleman (from Kwik Krimes, edited by Otto Penzler; Thomas & Mercer)
“The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository,” by John Connolly (Bibliomysteries: Short Tales about Deadly Books, edited by Otto Penzler; Bookspan)
“The Dragon’s Tail,” by Martin Limon (from Nightmare Range: The Collected Sueno and Bascom Short Stories; Soho Books)
“The Hindi Houdini,” by Gigi Pandian (from Fish Nets: The Second Guppy Anthology, edited by Ramona DeFelice Long; Wildside Press)
“Incident on the 405,” by Travis Richardson (from The Malfeasance Occasional: Girl Trouble, edited by Clare Toohey; Macmillan)
“The Care and Feeding of Houseplants,” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)

Best Non-fiction:
The Lady and Her Monsters: A Tale of Dissections, Real-Life Dr. Frankensteins, and the Creation of Mary Shelley’s Masterpiece, by Roseanne Montillo (Morrow)
Being Cool: The Work of Elmore Leonard, by Charles J. Rzepka (Johns Hopkins University Press)
The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War, by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award:
A Murder at Rosamund’s Gate, by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur)
Saving Lincoln, by Robert Kresge (ABQ Press)
Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses, by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur)
Murder as a Fine Art, by David Morrell (Little, Brown)
Ratlines, by Stuart Neville (Soho Crime)

Winners will be announced on the evening of November 13, during Bouchercon in Long Beach, California.

No comments: