Thursday, July 19, 2012

Mina’s Major Coup

Scottish crime writer Denise Mina’s 2010 novel, The End of the Wasp Season (Orion), has won this year’s Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, according to the Euro Crime blog. That commendation was presented this evening during the opening ceremony at England’s Harrogate Crime Writing Festival (July 19-22).

The other five finalists for that same prize were Now You See Me, by S.J. Bolton (Transworld); Where the Bodies Are Buried, by Chris Brookmyre (Little, Brown); The Burning Soul, by John Connolly (Hodder & Stoughton); Black Flowers, by Steve Mosby (Orion); and Before I Go to Sleep, by S.J. Watson (Transworld).

Eighteen books were on the longlist of contenders for the 2012 Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, but that list was shortened to half a dozen in early July. An online public balloting process was then launched to help determine the winner.

In addition to Mina’s win, Colin Dexter, author of the Inspector Morse series, was presented with the third Theakstons Old Peculier Outstanding Contribution to Crime Fiction Award.

READ MORE:Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, Day One,” “Day Two,” and “Day Three,” by Ayo Onatade (Shotsmag Confidential); “Harrogate,” by Martin Edwards (‘Do You Write Under Your Own Name?’); “The Harrogate Festival,” by Craig Sisterson (Crime Watch); Euro Crime’s Karen Meek offers several posts from Harrogate; “Final Days of Theakstons Old Peculier Crime Writing Festival, and Reflections,” by Ayo Onatade (Shotsmag Confidential).

No comments: