Monday, November 21, 2011

MWA Spreads the Love Around

Novelist Martha Grimes has been chosen to receive 2012’s Grand Master Award from the Mystery Writers of America. “MWA’s Grand Master Award represents the pinnacle of achievement in mystery writing and was established to acknowledge important contributions to this genre, as well as a body of work that is both significant and of consistent high quality,” explains a news release from the New York-based writers’ organization.

Grimes, author of the Richard Jury and Emma Graham series, will be given her commendation during the Edgar Awards Banquet, to be held at the Grand Hyatt Hotel in New York City on Thursday, April 26, 2012.

The MWA has also announced three more prize winners.

Two 2012 Raven Awards (recognizing “outstanding achievement in the mystery field outside the realm of creative writing”) will go to the “M” Is for Mystery bookstore in San Mateo, California--now hailed as “the only mystery bookstore between Los Angeles and Portland”--and North Carolina resident Molly Weston, who writes a blog called Meritorious Mysteries and edits the Sisters in Crime newsletter.

Finally, Joe Meyers, who reviews and writes about mystery/thriller novels for the Connecticut Post and Hearst Media News Group, will be given the 2012 Ellery Queen Award, honoring “editors or publishers who have distinguished themselves by their generous and wide-ranging support of the genre.”

Congratulations to all of these winners.

READ MORE:Martha Grimes: All in the Details,” by Oline Cogdill (Mystery Scene).

No comments: