Sunday, January 23, 2011

The Nominations Are In

We have just been sent word of which authors and novels are in the running to receive the four commendations that are to be handed out during this coming March’s Left Coast Crime convention in Santa Fe, New Mexico. The envelopes, please ...

The Lefty Award (for a humorous mystery):
Donna Andrews, Stork Raving Mad (Minotaur)
Laura DiSilverio, Swift Justice (Minotaur/Thomas Dunne)
Donna Moore, Old Dogs (Busted Flush Press)
Kris Neri, Revenge for Old Times’ Sake (Cherokee McGhee)
J. Michael Orenduff, The Pot Thief Who Studied Einstein (Oak Tree)

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award
(for a historical mystery set before 1950):
Rebecca Cantrell, A Night of Long Knives (Forge)
Robert Kresge, Murder for Greenhorns (ABQ Press)
Kelli Stanley, City of Dragons (Minotaur)
Jeri Westerson, The Demon’s Parchment (Minotaur)
Jacqueline Winspear, The Mapping of Love and Death (HarperCollins)

The Hillerman Sky Award (a special prize given this year to the mystery that best captures the landscape of the Southwest):

Sandi Ault, Wild Penance (Berkley)
Christine Barber, The Bone Fire (Minotaur)
Margaret Coel, The Spider’s Web (Berkley)
Deborah J Ledford, Snare (Second Wind Publishing)

The Watson (another special commendation, given to the mystery novel with the best sidekick):
Sandi Ault, Wild Penance (Berkley)
Rachel Brady, Dead Lift (Poisoned Pen Press)
Chris Grabenstein, Rolling Thunder (Pegasus)
Craig Johnson, Junkyard Dogs (Viking)
Spencer Quinn, To Fetch a Thief (Atria)

These awards will be voted on by attendees at the convention and presented during a banquet on Saturday, March 26.

The news release containing this awards information also featured the following basics about this year’s Left Coast Crime event:
The 22nd annual Left Coast Crime Convention will take place in Santa Fe, New Mexico, March 24-27, 2011. The convention’s theme, The Big Chile, highlights the essence that powers the food that fuels mystery fans living in and visiting New Mexico and the Southwest, as well as many of the fictional characters in books set in this part of the country. Noted author Martin Cruz Smith will be recognized for his Lifetime Achievement. Author Guests of Honor are Margaret Coel and Steven Havill. Marv Lachman is this year’s Fan Guest of Honor, and author Steve Brewer is Toastmaster. The Big Chile “ghosts of honor”--who wrote important novels set in Northern New Mexico and the Southwest--are Dorothy B. Hughes (1904-1993) and Frances Crane (1896-1981).”
If you’re interesting in attending the convention, but have not yet signed up to do so, click here for prices and to find a registration form.

No comments: