Monday, October 04, 2010

Have Your Say -- But Do It Fast

This coming Friday, October 8, an announcement is expected from London of the winners of the 2010 Crime Thriller Awards. There are three prestigious categories of book contestants, plus seven sets of rivals for the film and television awards. We’ll bring you the results in The Rap Sheet as soon as they’re available.

But in the meantime, there’s one other awards category in which reader and viewer opinions are still being sought: The People’s Detective Dagger. A dozen series detectives familiar from British TV shows--including Christopher Foyle (Foyle’s War), Inspector Robbie Lewis (Lewis), Jane Tennison (Prime Suspect), and Sherlock Holmes (The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes)--are in contention for that commendation. If you’d like to vote for your favorite among these sleuths, simply click here.

Voting will remain open until 9 a.m. this coming Friday.

A special awards ceremony will be held on October 8 at London’s Grosvenor House Hotel in Mayfair, to be broadcast via Britain’s ITV3 on Tuesday, October 12.

The Crime Thriller Awards are presented by the British Crime Writers’ Association and its corporate partners, Specsavers, Cactus TV and ITV3.

(Hat tip to Omnimystery News.)


Winifred said...

Decisions! Decisions! "Who to vote for" that is the question.

I've enjoyed the TV run up to this where they've shown the contenders' programmes each week. So many of them are brilliant. Morse is definitely the best programme but I love the characters of Lewis and Foyle.

Now if they had included US TV detectives I'd have no problem. Harry O forever!

Ali Karim said...

Very excited as Krister Henricksson who plays Wallender in the Yellowbird Series is coming to London