Monday, August 03, 2009

And the Votes Are In

Readers were asked to select the winners in five categories for this year’s Crimespree Awards, presented by Crimespree Magazine. With those votes now having been tallied, here are the prize recipients.

Favorite Book of 2008: Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Morrow)

Also nominated: Yellow Medicine, by Anthony Neil Smith (Bleak House); Envy the Night, by Michael Koryta (Minotaur); Chasing Darkness, by Robert Crais (Simon & Schuster); and Toros & Torsos, by Craig McDonald (Bleak House)

Best Book in an Ongoing Series: Chasing Darkness, by Robert
Crais (Simon & Schuster)

Also nominated: Trigger City, by Sean Chercover (Morrow); Toros & Torsos, by Craig McDonald (Bleak House); Another Thing to Fall, by Laura Lippman (Morrow); and the Duffy Dombrowski Mystery Series, by Tom Schreck (Midnight Ink)

Favorite Comics Writer: Brian Azzarello

Also nominated: Tim Broderick; B. Clay Moore; Ed Brubaker;
and Jason Aaron

Favorite Original Paperback: Money Shot, by Christa Faust
(Hard Case Crime)

Also nominated: Go-Go Girls of the Apocalypse, by Victor Gischler (Touchstone); Severance Package, by Duane Swierczynski (St. Martin’s Minotaur); The Stolen, by Jason Pinter (Mira); and The Evil That Men Do, by Dave White (Three Rivers Press)

Favorite Mystery Bookstore: Once Upon a Crime, Minneapolis

Also nominated: The Mystery Bookstore, Los Angeles; Murder by the Book, Houston; Centuries & Sleuths, Forest Park, Illinois; and M Is for Mystery, San Mateo, California

No comments: