Monday, March 11, 2013

A Most Fitting Honor

In honor of Maxine Clarke, the British editor, crime-fiction blogger, and “champion of Scandinavian crime fiction” who died last December, a Web site called Petrona Remembered (Petrona having been the name of Clarke’s long-running blog) was established earlier this year.

Now comes a second tribute: the new Petrona Award for the Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year. Four contenders for the 2013 prize were announced earlier today:

Pierced, by Thomas Enger, tr. Charlotte Barslund (Faber and Faber)
Black Skies, by Arnaldur Indridason, tr. Victoria Cribb (Harvill Secker)
Last Will, by Liza Marklund, tr. Neil Smith (Corgi)
Another Time, Another Life, by Leif G.W. Persson, tr. Paul Norlen (Doubleday)

According to a press release, “The winning title will be announced at the annual international crime fiction event CrimeFest, held 30 May to 2 June 2013. The winning author will receive a full pass for the 2014 CrimeFest event plus a guaranteed panel at the 2014 event.” The four Petrona Award judges this year include Barry Forshaw, author of the 2012 non-fiction work Death in a Cold Climate: A Guide to Scandinavian Crime Fiction.

Information about eligibility and entering the competition for the 2014 Petrona Award can be found here.

1 comment:

Alafair Burke said...

Ha ha. I just saw this. Magnets! - Alafair